yet another clutch bleeding thread

jvandyke

True Classic
Recent clutch R&R left pedal feeling crappy.
Doesn't start to resist (engage master) until over halfway down.
Much bleeding but a one-man job with a stick. Will try extensive bleeding tonight with helper.
Just wondering if that is a symptom of air:
no clutch action until pedal well past half, then decent movement of slave (about one inch).
Car is drivable but pedal sometimes doesn't want to come up again.
Last night I pumped and held (with a stick) and cracked output at master, banjo and slave bleeder and only got a couple really small bubbles after about 10oz of juice moving through.
Just wondering if bleeding is the issue or if I have a master not happy (it's pretty new as is slave).
I can watch the rod on the master going in with pedal movement but there's no resistance until about half way down, then "fair" clutch action.
I was running a pedal stop before I tore into it, now I can't or I don't decent disengagement. I did not disturb hydraulics other than a quick test for bleeding before I started, which may have been enough to make it grumpy. Maybe I need to rig up a pressure bleeder. Be nice to find a generic reservoir cap that fits, I remember I found a weed killer bottle cap fit my old Opel nicely.

Last edited:
Doesn't sound right...

I seem to remember that a pedal that won't return is a sign that there is insufficient fluid/back pressure (not sure what the technical term is) in the system. Meaning either a bad seal or air. The pedal should be very direct in how much any movement at the master moves the slave.